The final entry from Asmar equestrian-sponsored rider, Sophie Wells, from the Frankfurt 2011 Young Riders World Cup Final

Asmar equestrian-sponsored rider, Sophie Wells, recently attended the Frankfurt 2011 Young Riders World Cup Final in Germany, which was held from 16 – 18 December 2011. We have been serialising her diary entries, and this is the final entry.

The day of the kur, or dressage to music, and I was drawn first – typical, but my own fault as I had to draw the ball out of the hat!! But i’m all about setting the standard on the day as that’s something we cannot control! Noki felt good warming up, and when we went around the arena, it was really buzzing in there as it was a Saturday evening and many people had come to watch. When Noki heard his music he got a little excited, which was lovely because he does love his music, but it did ‘up’ him 3 gears. It caused a few mistakes, however it was an amazing opportunity to be put in that situation, being exposed to it and to experience it, and I have no doubt we will have come out of it stronger. We dropped one place in the freestyle to 7th, but in the scheme of things, being the World Cup final, I was very pleased with it. The judges were all very complimentary about us, and obviously we are different, with me being a para rider at an able bodied major competition; however we seemed to be received really well.

Noki really showed off in the prize giving doing the biggest extended trot I’ve ever sat on, he felt incredible. I’m so pleased he enjoyed it too, as I so enjoyed it, and I’m glad it didn’t stress him out, he looked very pleased with himself after. Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff had arranged for each rider to have a photo printed for when we came out of the prize giving in a specially engraved photo frame, which I gave to Noki’s owners Jackie and Neil, as they have allowed me to ride him and are so supportive. We went out for a celebratory meal that night with them before they had to fly back home and it really was lovely, I really appreciate all the hard work everybody who supported me out there, Jackie, Neil , Ange and Mark, had done and made it such an enjoyable and memorable trip.

I feel it has been great preparation ahead of London 2012 this year and our campaign for it will get under way now. I am trying to look at my finances to see whether it is possible and figure out where would be the best to be based next year. Angela Weiss has been amazing in her training, and help and support over all the years she has helped me, and I feel basing with her in the run up to London will give more continuity and enable her to overlook every aspect of training and care of the horses for next year. We are a fantastic team and I couldn’t do it without her!

Sunday morning we did some shopping before we left, it was quite sad to leave as I had enjoyed it so much! We hit blizzards on the way home coming through France, but we did get into the Christmas spirit when we stopped for fuel….

Thank you to everyone, all my sponsors and supporters, amazing team, family, friends, who have made this year possible. Next year…..here we come!

I was able to wear my new Asmar Equestrian Hunter Jacket, which has my sponsors’ logos on the front and back -it was great to wear around the venue and when I was riding.

Posted on December 6, 2012, in Sophie Wells and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

